Emma Teitelman was awarded a Mellon Postdoctoral Research Fellowship

Tue, 04/24/2018

Emma Teitelman, was awarded a Mellon Postdoctoral Research Fellowship in American History at Cambridge University, UK, beginning in October 2018. The fellowship runs from 2018 to 2021.

Emma’s dissertation is entitled “Governing the Peripheries: The Social Reconstruction of the South and West After the American Civil War.”  Her committee is: Prof. Stephanie McCurry (dissertation supervisor); Prof. Steve Hahn; Prof. Kathy Brown; and Prof. Rogers Smith (Political Science). 


Four History Department received Dissertation Research Fellowships

Thu, 04/19/2018


Dissertation Research Fellowship for the 2018-2019 academic year

Juan Pablo Ardilla-Falla: “Enthroning the Constitution: Colombia's Early Experiences of Citizenship and Nation, 1808-1830”

Committee: Ann Farnsworth-Alvear (Advisor), Roger Chartier, Antonio Feros, Amy Offner

Chelsea Chamberlain:  “Diagnostic Clinics and The Problem of Human Defect in Progressive America”

Committee: Kathy Peiss (Advisor); Sally Gordon;...

Five Graduate Students Receive Penfield Dissertation Research Fellowships for the 2018-2019

Thu, 04/19/2018


Phillip Mogen: “Unstable Histories, Uncertain Presents: Rethinking the Past and Recognizing the Present during the British Civil Wars, 1638–1660”

Committee: Margo Todd (advisor); Roger Chartier; Antonio Feros; Peter Stallybrass

 Sam Stark: “The Eighteenth Brumaire in Europe and America, 1852-1940”

Committee: Warren Breckman (advisor), Roger Chartier, Vanessa Ogle  

 Drew Starling:...

Professor Emeritus Steve Feierman Elected as a Member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Tue, 04/17/2018

Steve Feierman is a newly elected member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.  A great honor and well-deserved!

Steve is Professor of History Emeritus.  He is the author of Peasant Intellectuals: Anthropology and History in Tanzania(University of Wisconsin Press, 1990), The Shambaa Kingdom: A History (University of Wisconsin Press, 1974), a co-author of African History: from Earliest Times to Independence (Longman, 1995), co-editor of The Social Basis of...

CLIR Mellon Fellowship for Dissertation Research in Original Sources

Mon, 04/16/2018

Drew Starling received a CLIR Mellon Fellowship for Dissertation Research in Original Sources for 2018-2019. The fellowship will allow him to travel to Paris, Utrecht, Leuven, Washington D.C., and Chicago over the course of the next year.

Drew’s dissertation is entitled: “’Theological Quarrels and Wars of the Pen’: Jansenism, the Rise of Mass Media, and the Fall of the Old Regime.”  His committee is: Prof. Sophia Rosenfeld, Prof. Roger Chartier, Prof. Alan Charles Kors, and Prof. Joan DeJean (French and Francophone Studies).


Association for Jewish Studies (AJS) Dissertation Completion Fellowship

Mon, 04/16/2018

Ayelet Brinn received an Association for Jewish Studies (AJS) Dissertation Completion Fellowship for 2018-2019!  Ayelet’s dissertation is entitled “Miss Amerike: The Yiddish Press’s Encounter with the United States.”  (She presented a chapter of it at the Graduate Colloquium just today, in fact!) 

Her committee is: Prof. Beth Wenger (advisor); Prof. Kathy Peiss; Prof. Kathryn Hellerstein (Department of Germanic Languages and Literatures); and Prof. Tony Michels (University of Wisconsin-Madison) 

Professor Eiichiro Azuma receives two fellowships for the 2018-19 Academic Year

Mon, 04/16/2018


Eiichiro Azuma who received a Taiwan Fellowship (sponsored by the Republic of China's Ministry of Foreign Relations) as well as a Japanese Foundation Research Fellowship.  


He will be enjoying a much-deserved leave through Fall 2018,  spending four months in Taiwan and almost two months in Japan before coming back to the teaching duties in Spring 2019.  



Ira H. Abrams Award for Distinguished Teaching

Wed, 04/11/2018

Peter Holquist was selected as a recipient of the Ira Abrams Memorial Award for Distinguished Teaching in 2018. This prize recognizes teaching that is "intellectually challenging and exceptionally coherent, that leads to an informed understanding of a discipline. Recipients of the Ira Abrams Memorial Award are expected to embody high standards of integrity and fairness, to have a strong commitment to learning, and to be open to new ideas." 

DuBois-Wells Graduate Student Paper Prize

Wed, 04/11/2018

Natalie Shibley, a joint PhD candidate in History and Africana, was awarded the DuBois-Wells Graduate Student Paper Prize at the African American Intellectual History Society conference. The Dubois-Wells prize “recognizes the most outstanding paper presented by a graduate student” at the annual conference.

Natalie’s paper was "'Not fit material for any one to print': Race, Respectability, and Military Homosexuality Investigations, 1945-1950," and was drawn from material in her second dissertation chapter.

2018 History Department Undergraduate Research Prizewinners Announced

Tue, 04/10/2018

Congratulations to the following Penn History students!

Adolph G. Rosengarten, Jr. Prize for the most outstanding Honors thesis: 
Vibha Kannan, “Promoting the Cause of Freedom”: Female Consumption in British Abolition, 1787-1833

Lynn M. Case Prize for the best Honors thesis in European history:
Joseph Aaron Scott LaSure, Touching the Lord’s Anointed: The Justification for the Execution of Charles I

Thomas C. Cochran Prize for...