2017-2018 Dissertation Research Fellowships

Graduate students in the History Department received six Dissertation Research Fellowshipsfor the 2017-2018 academic year.  Please find our awardees, their projects, and their committees below.  

Dissertation Research Fellowship for the 2017-2018 academic year

Beeta Baghoolizadeh: "From Black and White to Blackface: the Economy of Race in Iran, from 1840-1941."  Committee: Prof. Eve Troutt Powell; Prof. Kathleen Brown; Prof. Jamal Elias (Religious Studies)

Colin McGrath: "Building a New Local State: Urban Finance and Legal Rights under a New Federalism in Texas."  Committee: Prof. Sarah Gordon, Prof. Wendell Pritchett (Law), Prof. Amy Offner

Rasul Miller: "Black Muslim Cosmopolitanism: The Global Character of NYC’s Black Orthodox Muslim Movements: 1936 – 1988."  Committee: Prof. Mary Frances Berry, Prof. Eve Troutt-Powell, and Prof. Cheikh Anta Babou.

Camille Suarez: “Becoming California: A Multiracial Narrative of Conquest, Citizenship, and Sovereignty in California, 1846 – 1882.”  Committee: Prof. Mary Frances Berry (chair), Prof. Eiichiro Azuma, Prof. Heather Williams (Africana), Prof. Steven Hahn 

Kristian Taketomo: "Megalopolis, USA.:  The Politics of Urbanization in Postwar America."

Sarah Winsberg: "Making Work: Lawyers and the Boundaries of Labor, 1780-1860." Committee: Prof. Sally Gordon (advisor), Prof. Dan Richter, and Prof. Kathy Brown.