Research Prizes

Every spring, the Department of History recognizes the best research papers written in history courses, as well as the best honors theses. 

History Undergraduate Research Award Winners 2019

Adolph G. Rosengarten, Jr. Prize for the most outstanding Honors thesis: 

Parker Abt, What They Can Do Themselves: Agency and Politics in the Colonias of South Texas, 1945–95

Lynn M. Case Prize for the best Honors thesis in European history:

Madeleine Lamon, A Study in Contradiction: Jewish Parisians in Pursuit of Emancipation in the French Revolution (1789)

Thomas C. Cochran Prize for the best Honors thesis in American history:

Courtney Carpinello, Defining America: Noah Webster and Educational Discourse in New England’s Nineteenth-Century Unitarian Controversy
Justin Estreicher, Celebrating Conquest: Broken Treaties, World’s Fairs, and Constructions of Native American Savagery, 1875-1905

Hilary Conroy Prize for the best Honors thesis in World history:

Meerabelle Jesuthasan, Alliances against Empire: Intercolonialisms and Internationalisms in Paris between the Wars

Captain Victor Gondos, Jr. Prize for the best research paper or thesis in military or diplomatic history:

Bryce Klehm, Soldier-to-Soldier Diplomacy: Joint U.S.-Russian Peacekeeping in Bosnia, 1995-1996

Jeanette Nichols Prize for the best research paper or thesis in Gender history or Social history:

Angela Ra, “Let's talk about Sex[ual Harassment]: The Evolution of Workplace Sexual Harassment in the Courts, Feminist Activism, and Public Discourse”

James V. Saporito Memorial Prize for the best undergraduate research paper or thesis in Intellectual and Cultural history:

William Weiss, "'Ther nys a bettre knight': Hector as a Medieval Knightly Ideal"

Jack Reece Prize for an outstanding undergraduate research paper in European history:

Shiri Gross, "Le Polemiche al Caffe Michalangiolo"

Gussie Wachs Prize for an outstanding undergraduate research paper in American History:

Luke Mullan, “Sent South: Reassessing Secessionism in Civil War Baltimore”

Martin Wolfe Prize for an outstanding undergraduate research paper in World history:

Timothy Lim, “One Base, One Rail: China’s African Vision”


Submission Guidelines

Students are invited to submit research papers for these annual awards at any time during the year. All submissions should be e-mailed as a single PDF file to the History Undergraduate Advisor. Students do not need to designate the award for which they are competing. The faculty prize committee will determine the papers' suitability for the various awards. Prizes are awarded annually in the spring; the annual deadline will vary slightly according to date of Commencement. 

2019 deadline: Wednesday, March 13 at 12:00 noon.


Additional Awards

Students who have completed a thesis (honors and non-honors) are also encouraged to submit them for Phi Beta Kappa prizes. For more information, please consult the College of Arts & Sciences website. 

The Rose Foundation gives awards to undergraduates (and their advisors) for outstanding research projects (after they are completed). For more information, please consult the Center for Undergraduate Research and Fellowships website.